TV Control: Harmony Hub vs Broadlink RM3 Mini?

Hi there,

I want to control my TV via infrared adapter and am looking for the right one.
My goal is to connect snips.ai as well and thus I came across the Broadlink RM3 Mini which
is quite cheap.
It seems to have an API and there are many libraries.

Besides that, Harmony Hub seems to be supported quite well also, so I’m unsure what to chose.

I’m a software developer so I’d like something flexible/modular that allows me to extend it.

Does anyone have a recommendatoin?

To get true automation that is reliable you can not use IR as it is only one way. If you want to know if the TV is on or off you really can not be sure as things like the power fails and TV stays off or someone walks over to the TV and turns it off. You also can never be sure the IR successfully reached the TV, and this is also an issue when a button like pause can be used to pause and to play depending how many times a devices actually sees the IR command. This is why I have moved all our watching to use Kodi as you then have 2 way communication to know real states and I am looking forward to the new Sony binding so the TV can also talk direct.

I use and love the Harmony as a RF based remote is fantastic and never fails and it makes things easier with powering on the surround amp and input switching.

I’m aware that it’s only one way and not synced. My TV is old anyway and I will replace it with one that has a better API.

I have to power on an Amp as well, switch inputs, etc - but I’m not sure if I should get the Broadlink Mini or Harmony Hub…

Offtopic: Can you elaborate on the Kodi Setup? (My Input is DVB-C)