UI & UX Improvements - Is there already a Group?

Hi! I am a Newbie here in the OpenHAB community. I am a GUI und UX Designer working already for some years in related fields. I was wondering if there is already a Channel or Group caring about Improvements for UX and UI in openHAB. I solve some things with local based improvements. I run openHAB quiet successfully on a Synology NAS DS215j (under Oracle Java Dev Kit) which solved performance problems in the beginning.

Would be great to start some discussions, sharing ideas around UI/UX improvments here!

(Also it would be nice to add a ā€œuxā€ tag :slight_smile: )

2 Likes

Welcome to the openHAB community!

When I was working (retired now), I had a couple UX designers on my team. They were AWESOME! Iā€™m looking forward to you sharing some of your ideas to improve the openHAB user experience.

@Kai should be able to address your questions about a dedicated UX tag here on the forum, as well as contributing to openHAB in general.

found u on linkedin as well :slight_smile:

i quiet would like to wait until there is a group/ channelā€¦ because in that case it would make more sense to split a discussion/topic/idea in several parts to keep overview and work on those.

basically the ideas are around creating a setup/start up process in a stepform wayā€¦ as well as improving parts in openHAB as well like rule editors, txt editors and several things to guide more non-techi users trough set-up things, rules etc.

overall i totally like the current state of openHAB but i found some local fixes in UI very very helpful for myselfā€¦ i would like to share ideas and work on that!

Thanks Mark for catching up :slight_smile:
Manuel

I think one thing that will make this a little challenging is there is not one UX in OH, there are several.

Administration:

• PaperUI
  • Habmin
  • Text based config files

User:

• BasicUI
  • ClassicUI
  • HABPanel
  • CometVisu
  • Habmin
  • iOS App
  • Android App