Unable to connect to my openHAB pi

Hi I’m Brand new to openHAB but reasonablely competant with Raspberry Pi and Linux.

I have tried several times now to get openHAB workiing on a Pi the Build seems to go OK. While th build it taking place browsing to port 80 displays the build log refreshing ever 10 seconds at the end of the build it says the build was good and that after the reboot browse to port 8080 when I try that I get connection refused.

ssh -p 8101 also gives connection refused

I connect a Monitor and Keyboard everything looks fine but I can’t login as openhanded:habopen don’t work.

about-the-beginners-category/34 Says:-

Before Posting

• Read the openHAB 2 documentation . Most beginner problems originate out of an incomplete understanding of the openHAB basics described there.

I’ve looked at that but in fact docs.openhab.org is not in the DNS so that’s not much help to me.

Does anyone have any pointers to documentation that might help resolve this issue for me.

Also the limit on the number of links in a post doesn’t help me describe the problem correctly.

It’s Introduction | openHAB for quite some time now. Should be updated in the forum software I guess.
I think you went the recommended “openHABian” way? So, the docs for that are here:

• ssh ( use standard ssh port 22 ) into your pi using the openhabian account
  • then sudo bash and go to /var/log/openhab
    there check the content of the openhab.log file for errors
  • besides that you can check if a java process is running ( ps -ef | grep java )

Thank you for the pointer to the Docs. Yes I am using openHABian.
I’ve now able to log on and can start digging.

1 Like

Hmmm /var/log/openhab only has an empty Readme.txt

There is no Java running either.

Looking at first-boot.log
Installing OpenJDK 11 Failed
Installing selected openHAB3 Failed
Installing Samba Failed

No wonder it’s not working.