Understanding REGEX and using it in ITEM with MQTT

Hi Guys

I am fairly new to openHAB, and I really love what everyone has been doing! I am using openHAB2.

My problem is around understanding REGEX. I have done quite a bit of research and just when I think I understand it, it does not work… Here we go:

In there a proper guide on REGEX and I think the flavour that works in openHAB. I have tried emulators that’s on the web, but that expression does not seem to work in openHAB.

I want to use regex in the Items file, which will avoid lots of scripts and rules. I have the following data from MQTT:

S:OPEN,P:1,N:"Workshop IR"
or
S:CLOSED,P:1,N:“Workshop IR”

And I need just the OPEN or CLOSED statements. I have tried various different one’s, but I am missing something. I have been using this site to test the expressions. https://regex101.com
Here is a sample of what I have tried:
String WorkshopIR “Workshop IR [%s]” (Alarm) {mqtt="<[mosquitto:Paradox/ZS/Z9:state:REGEX((OPEN)|(CLOSED))
]"}
Can’t remember the rest… but there has been plenty.

Please help? I would like to understand this, so I don’t have to ask…

Thanks
Ruben

Which paradox binding are you using? I’ve been playing with the v2 one, and have changed it to use logging, and also to output each zone to their own item (rather than requiring regex).

eg:
Paradox/Zone/Main Door ON
Paradox/Zone/Main Door OFF

So each sensor (as named in babyware) make their own Paradox/Zone/[zone name] entry meaning you can easily add each to a switch.

I’ve also added the partition arm/disarm to a similar item.

I think, looking at your entries of ZS etc you;'re using v1 of the paradox binding.

You are 100% correct, I am using V1. Question on V2, can you still use the iParadox app if the binding is connected to the system. As far as I have it when a user is connected, a second user can’t. That’s why I went for now with V1 as it binds to the web port. I have a 192Evo system.