Units of Measure - UoM - OH4 - Standard Display

I read OH4 annoucements regarding breaking changes in UoM in OH4.
No complain about the new handling which is from technical point needed.
As a Car binding developer I still have a question regarding the region of hte user and the corresponding display of units of that region.

Situation in OH3
Carr binding is recognizig the Number:Length is Miles or Kilometres from the backend. Configuring channel-types with %unti% is always displaying the delivered Unit.

<channel-type id="mileage-channel">
		<item-type>Number:Length</item-type>
		<label>Mileage</label>
		<state pattern="%d %unit%" readOnly="true"/>
	</channel-type>

Situation in OH4
The bindig is still delivering Miles or Kilometres from backend and the channel has the correct value in metres.
But the user wants too see his values based on the configured region.

My Problem
What shall I deliver in my binding project as channel-types.xml to reflect the correct UoM based on the cofigured region?
I can enter km as shown below to satisfy European customers - this works!

<channel-type id="mileage-channel">
		<item-type>Number:Length</item-type>
		<label>Mileage</label>
		<state pattern="%d km" readOnly="true"/>
	</channel-type>

Shall I ask every user in North America user to add a state pattern in UI to change the pattern of the items

• mileage
  • range-electric
  • range-fuel
  • range-radius
  • trip-distance
  • ā€¦

Unfortunately there was a deliberate decision to not allow bindings to supply unit metadata. You can supply actual units to the State Description Pattern but thatā€™s just going to change the how the Item is shown.

The end users will have to supply unit metadata manually where their desired unit does not match what the system default is (which I think is feet for Number:Length when Imperial is chosen and meter for Metric.