UPB Binding Development

I’ve seen a couple of brief mentions around, but is there any current development going on for a UPB binding? I’m very new to openhab and would like to add some support for the few UPB switches that I have. I’m willing to collaborate, but otherwise I can make something myself.

I am interested as well. I am at a total loss when it comes to developing bindings for OpenHAB, but I am more than willing to offer what I can. Currently, I use HomeSeer to interface with my PIM to control the switches in my house. The way that the plug-in for HomeSeer works is by taking the configuration file that upstart creates and exports, and then using that to know what scenes are available, what switches are available, what each of them do, etc. It works really well, but I don’t really know much about how it’s implemented. I would think we should start there with our approach for OpenHAB. We can take the exported configuration from upstart and see what that file contains and how we can leverage it.

ok, well, I’m not sure what use UPStart’s config files will be at this point. I suppose there might be some use in openhab2. I’ve written a binding that is functional now. I just need to do up the documentation on the wiki and hunt down some stability issues before I submit a PR.

Hi Chris. What is the status of your PR? I am very interested in UPB in OpenHAB.
I can not help with development but I am very willing to do any alpha or beta testing. I have an environment with many UPB Simply Automated units.

Thanks.

Chris, The way that the plugin for HomeSeer works is that it takes the output from the .UPE UpStart file, and then parses it into HomeSeer to essentially create a replica of what you have set up in UpStart (i.e. - What Devices, Names, Rooms, Links / Scenes, whether or not the switch is dimmable, whether or not to expect the light level to be returned, etc.). It’s a pretty slick implementation. I would think something similar would be very handy here.