Updates openHAB

Hi everyone, my name is Jacky and I’m an ICT management student and it’s up to me to solve some issues from a ‘customer’.

The questions;

How are updates organized within openHAB?

How are updates organized within openHAB?

How often are these performed and is this just as much as the home automation platform Home Assistant?

How are these updates performed?

I couldn’t find any topics about updates. Thank you in advance!

I guess, you’re right with regard, that there’s no “non-developer” explanation on updates. [1]

To summarize your question:

• Major upgrades (stable version) happen twice a year (mostly June / December)
  • Minor upgrades/Bug (stable version) fixes happen, “when ready”

Apart from “stable” branch, there’s nightly builds (calles “snapshots”) for developers and Milestone-Builds, which are “kind of” stable, but mostly untested and “on own risk” for end users “testing” openHAB.

If you’re using a Raspberry Pi, you should use openHABian, which takes care of all that “internals” for you, there’s a menu for that (sudo openhabian-config), which you can access via SSH and chose your version (stable, Milestone, Snapshot) and it’ll update for you via that menu.
If for some reason you don’t use the ready-built openHABian, you can either use “apt-get update” functionality, but then you should know, how the package manager works with regards on chosing the branches as explained above.

[1] if there’s a easily accessible explanation apart from Download openHAB | openHAB, please feel free to prove me wrong! :wink:

No, twice a year, June and December.

2 Likes

rrrright, sorry. Updated my text above.

Please be more precise in asking/explaining the background of your question, it is unclear.
What do you understand by an “update” ? A new code version to contain new features ? A patch that brings fixes but does not change anything about functions ?