USB to RS485 adapter for Smart Metering

Hello,

I’ve been searching the forum for a while, but couldn’t really get the information together I needed. I have a smart meter that supports RS485 and got a DSD Tech USB to RS485 stick, which is said to work with Linux and on other smart home projects, it seems to be used successfully.

However, since I’m totally new to that matter, I am stuck at the very beginning of how to use it. What I managed is to figure out where it’s linked to

# ls -la /dev/serial/by-id/usb-Silicon_Labs_CP2102_USB_to_UART_Bridge_Controller_0001-if00-port0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 Mar  5 11:17 /dev/serial/by-id/usb-Silicon_Labs_CP2102_USB_to_UART_Bridge_Controller_0001-if00-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB0

and to get some more information about it

# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP2102/CP2109 UART Bridge Controller [CP210x family]

but … here I am now and stuck. I understand I need to set up the Serial Binding for OpenHAB, but have no clue, what to actually put in. Unfortunately there’s not much documentation (actually none) that I have. Has anybody successfully connected a smart meter this way successfully to OpenHAB? If there’s somebody who has successfully accomplished this undertaking I would be very grateful for any help or assistance I could get, so that I manage to set things up myself. Serial communication is something I’m new to (a friend of mine said that I’m too young for it :see_no_evil: ).

Ah - and I’d at best like to publish the information from the smart meter to MQTT, but I think if I manage to get things loaded in to a thing, I’ll get the MQTT part done by myself.

Thanks a lot in advance for any help.

What language does the mystery smart meter talk? Many with an RS485 hardware interface talk Modbus protocol,but that’s not guaranteed.

That was a good first question that helped me when searching a bit. So on the specification side, I hope I got all correct is this what is said for it: