Use local TTS with squeezebox on Windows

… here we go: Use local TTS with squeezebox on Windows

@Fro … I’ve started to create the page (see link in 1st post of this topic). Unfortunately you’ll not find much details about firewall configuration. There are multiple reasons why I’ve decided not to post a step-by-step explanation:

• I’m not an expert on security & firewall settings; they need careful considerations (how exposed is the system, how “hard” is the service I expose … etc.); do I open only for the port - do I limit access to subnets, or machines …

• Another point is, I use a German Windows 10 - the screenshots will only be of limited use for other OS versions (e.g. Win 7 with different local)

If you are aware of the risks involved I’ll try to help you to configure the firewall the same way I did for me: open the port for all incoming traffic (my system is not directly exposed to outside networks). For this I would need to know the OS version and language. I’ll try to find a system that matches yours as close as possible and create more detailed instructions I’ll post in the forum.

with kind regards,
Patrik

Thanks for Your help. I tried open outcoming port: 8089 in source PC firewall (first TCP, after UDP), but without luck. Unfortunately this PC is my media server also, is exposed to internet. I have firewall in router also (Asus RT-AC68U) - maybe in router settings is my problem? I don’t know. Still investigating.
Sorry for my english. I’m from Poland. I have Windows 10, same like You - polish version.

Again: Thanks for Your help.
Adam

Hi Fro,

I can not help you with the router - but I assume that no configuration changes are required there. For the windows machine you need to open port 8089 for incoming TCP connections: