Use OpenHABian image for Virtualbox VM after conversion to .vdi

Hi to all,

I am rather new to Openhab. Due to network problems with docker I want to use OpenHABian with a Virtualbox virtual machine: therefore I converted the .img (from OpenHAB.org) to a.vdi with VBoxManage convertdd input.img output.vdi. Afterwards I created a virtual machine using the vdi. Unfortunately the machine is not able to boot. Did anybody have a similar experience and maybe found a solution?

Thank you in advance!

That .img file is an SD card image that expects to run on a Raspberry Pi. Raspberry Pis use an ARM processor. The docs for VirtualBox are pretty clear that only x86 type processors are supported.

It’s also not clear whether an SD card image is what is meant by “raw disk image” but I would expect you would need to at least provide some sort of variant flag to tell VBoxManage what sort of disk image it is. .img is not a standard. One .img file may have a completely different layout and structure from another one.

And even assuming that VirtualBox could support ARM VMs and it was able to figure out what to do with that .img file you’d have the problem that the openHABian image is deliberately and expressly written and designed to run on a Raspberry Pi. It’s going to expect certain hardware to be there in certain ways which will not be the case for a VM.

That’s at least three different ways this approach can not and will never work and it’s why nothing like this is anywhere in the OH docs.

I’m also skeptical that moving to a VM is going to magically fix your networking problems. Traditionally, it’s harder top get the networking right for VMs than it is for a container. So maybe it’s better to figure out why using the container wouldn’t work. Did you use the --net=host option like the docs say?

If you want to continue down the path of a VM, you’ll have to:

1. Create your VM in the normal way
  2. Install the latest Debian on the VM