VS Studio Code - OpenHab Extension setup issues

Hi! (already posted under beginners but realized that this may be a more appropriate location)

I’m pretty new on this: running OpenHab 2.2 on RaspPI with manual installation, and trying to use VS Code Studio to edit the config files. Running VSCS 1.19.2 , OpenHab extension 0.3.5 on W10.
I have shared the folder “/etc/openhab2” on the RaspPI and opened the folder in VSCS, and modified the "User Setting openhab.host to the corret IP address (192.186.X.X).

If I create a new OpenHab file within VSCS the intellisense works as expected, all items etc. that I have setup within PaperUI comes up, so I assume that the REST API connection works as intended. However, what I do not get within the VSCS is the Tree view of my items (hence no code snippets etc.), and I don’t see the “openhab” button to load preview of the sitemaps etc.

As I’m pretty new to all of this I don’t fully know what to expect, and have only seen how it “should work” from online demo videos and images. I am suspecting that path for the config files is incorrect and therefore the Openhab Extension does not “kick in”, but I could be completely wrong…

Any help or direction to where I should read to get a better understanding would be very helpful. I have tried to get this to work for several evenings but only made tiny progress…

Not sure if it matters, but I also notice that if I set the Language Mode within VSCS to Openhab, save and restart, it’s changed back to plain text again.

Did you install the openHAB extension?

What folder are you opening?

I installed the openhab extension within VSCS and the path shared/used is /etc/openhab2 on the rasp pi

@kubawolanin, any ideas? The behavior seems odd. Everything seems to work with VSCode when creating a new file but opening the conf folder it treats it as just plain text.

Its more than that. It seems to me that the extension does not kick in, and I dont get the tree view of things/items/sitemaps etc. Either