"Waste reminder" with telegram query

Hello,

at first: Excuse my english :wink:

The idea for this was in the german “openhabforum”. I have build it myself (with “some” code from the “original” - Thank you OP :slight_smile: ) and want to show you how I did it. Im open for ideas or if something “wrong”. Im new to OpenHab but think it could help other.

What does my solution do:
Everyday at 18:00 o’clock a rule is checking, if one of my “Waste item” (filled with the icalendar binding) is having a date of tomorrow. If so, a “question” is sent every hour by telegram whether the garbage cans have been taken out. If this question is not “answerd” the “question” is send every hour again.

How:
At first you need an item for every “waste” you have and link it to the icalender-Filter (In this examples the items with the waste event are beggining with “Abfall…”. For my solution you have to put all the items in one group (“Abfall”).

Now you have to check, if the Waste items are filled with a “date” and set the “state description” to “%1$td.%1$tm.%1$tY”

Okay. Now we are need some “help/variant” items.
(I dont have the textual item definiton - I build it with paper UI)

vAbfall_Aktuell = string. The string will be, if waste for tomorrow is found, the label of the waste-item
vAbfall_Benachrichtigung = A Switch for the notification
vAbfall_BenachrichtigungE = A Switch if the notification have to be send again

Its important to have a diffrent name for the “help/variant” items, because we are looping through the group

Now to the rules.

The first rule is running every day at 18:00 o’clock. The script checks, if the waste is tomorrow.

val tomorrow = now.plusDays(1)

//loop through the group Abfall, but only for the items "Abfall*"
Abfall.members.filter[ i | i.name.substring(0,6) == "Abfall" && i.state != NULL].forEach[ i |

//Save the date 
        val Wert = (i.state as DateTimeType).zonedDateTime

//check if the waste date tomorrow