Water valve via OpenHAB

Hi all!

I’m completely new to openHAB, and I’m yet to set up the device I want to have everything working on. But I like doing research in advance :slight_smile: And along with other project I plan, I would like to operate a water valve via openHAB.

I’ve looked into what’s already been written about water valves in this community, but I haven’t found anything I see fitting my situation. I’ve read about ‘opensprinkler’, but that seems to require its own hardware, which seems overkill for the one valve I would like to operate. Or do I misunderstand how ‘opensprinkler’ works?

I thought googling for WiFi valves would surely render results, but lists like these (The 10 Best WiFi Water Valve Reviews in 2023 - ElectronicsHub) don’t seem to result in openHAB connections… So maybe I should turn to z-wave or zigbee valves? I’m not looking for high-market solutions here, so if anyone has any suggestions, those would be welcome :wink:

And does openHAB work with every kind of z-wave or zigbee device? Or is this Mosquitto MQTT thing something I need to use…?

I understand there are a lot of holes in my knowledge, and my question might seem too noob to merit a response, but I hope some good samaritan can still point me in the right direction.

Kind regards,

Erik

Hi friend, and welcome to the community:).
First up, I found it funny that you say this:

But then you never actually detail your specific situation :).
But, I’d like to point you to AliExpress and the relay valves they have there. They are easily (usually) flashed with tasmota and you can directly integrate them to openHAB just with that :slight_smile:

1 Like

To operate a valve you need a switch with dry contacts because valves normally do not use mains, but some sort of transformer (mine use 24VAC). In my garden I have 3 valves, to operate them I use a Sonoff 4CH-PRO (there are cheaper devices out there).