What does REST API response 200 mean + zwave ON/OFF control delay issue?

Say one REST API is related to binding and physical device.
1 Does response 200 simply mean OpenHAB server have received the REST request?
2 Or does response 200 mean that REST API have been processed by openhab through binding and get right response from physical device? And until receive right response from physical device/binding, it will NOT send back response to REST request client?

Scenario:
I have ported to Habmin’s zwave binding to android app.
After I have done all steps for zwave discovery, plus create item as my configuration in sitemap, link item to zwave device channel.

However, back to sitemap, can not control ON/OFF immediately.
Still need to wait for some time.

3 Is there a way to know the moment the zwave device is available to control by some REST querying API?

Thank you very much.

I’m not an expert on the code or the rest API, but based on my interpretation of the over all architecture I’m pretty sure the API call will return once the command or update makes it to the event bus and certainly not when it goes all the way to the device. I can’t answer the rest.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your interpretation.
By your description, it is logical to me that why even though I got 200 response by REST API for device discovery, it still have some delay to control device after that by UI widget on sitemap.

I guess you may have read some document/post in this forum to have your understanding, do you mind to share some clue to make it easier for me to find them?:wink:

Thank you.

To give an example, orvibo binding work with wifi switch.

Say after the orvibo binding discovery process, and then I go to the sitemap page to control orvibo wifi switch device as ON/OFF.

I may have some delay before the control can take effect.
Can I have some REST API to know the device is available to control on sitemap?