What is needed to build an OpenHAB temperature ecosystem?

Hi,

I’ve been looking into OpenHAB for quite a while, and I’m seeing an opportunity to make my own system with temperature control for my flat.

Though, I’m a little bit scared by what I find when I scroll the forum : I’ve never been close to a Raspberry Pi, I’ve been running a dedicated server for 10 years, but that’s about it.

So my question is : how hard is it to build a temperature control ecosystem with OpenHAB from scratch ? I thought I could purchase smart thermostatic heads for my radiators, smart thermometers to place in rooms, then have the temperature control handled by OpenHAB. Am I having a wrong representation of what the system is ?

Thanks a lot by advance !

Me neither, I’ve only seen pictures and run openHAB on servers existing for other purposes. You can at least experiment on a shared box or an old laptop, and later if you wish provide a dedicated host.

It’s a good starter project.
The most practical system designs are free-standing, managing themselves in a simple way e.g. thermostat heads on the radiators. But smart ones that communicate.
openHAB is best used in a supervisory role, i.e. setting the afternoon’s target temperature depending on weekday or weekend. openHAB can integrate other input from other places, like occupancy sensors or weather forecast, to refine its actions.

And of course do the non-essential pretty stuff, producing charts and cost forecasts.

Sounds like you’ve grasped this already :slight_smile:

I just woke up, sorry if I sound less enthusiastic than normal :frowning:
Your idea is an excellent starting project, don’t give up on it! Mine was humidity control :slight_smile:

First: you don’t need a raspberry pi. Understand that most “normal folks” don’t have extra hardware laying around, actually most nowadays just have a phone and a laptop, so the idea of a pi is simply that it’s cheap and (was) easily acquired.