What Software Proficiency Is Required?

I plan on using openHABian on a Raspberry Pi4 to monitor door and window contacts, sound an alarm, send a notification to my phone, and turn lights on and off to give the home a “lived in” look; and maybe monitor refrigerator energy consumption and operate roller shades. What software should I learn to complete this project?

You don’t really need any extra software really. Tho Maybe the question is what skills do you need?

Some questions to ask first are.

What smarthome products are you own already? And/or plan to use to do this?
How complicated rules do you want to write?

Have you imaged a Raspberry Pi before? Do you have basic Linux skills?

I have no experience with the Raspberry Pi, don’t own any smarthome products, just have a basic idea of what products I will need, and my rules may be simple, but, due to my lack of experience I could be wrong. The only thing I have an abundance of, as my user name implies, is time.

Welcome! I took one year of electrical engineering in the 90’s, and then got an English degree. According to your profile, you have multiple engineering degrees and designed nuclear control systems. So, I think you’ll be fine. :wink:

If you’re just experimenting, you can start by putting openHAB on an old laptop that you’ve got sitting around, whether it’s running Windows, MacOS or Linux. But if you’re not bothered by the cost, pick up an RPi4 with 4GB of RAM (you don’t need 8GB) and put the openHABian image on it. That’s the easiest way to get started with openHAB.

You have a nice advantage, which is that you haven’t started a collection of home-automation gear yet. That means you can choose products that you know will work well with openHAB and benefit from the discussions that have already taken place in the community.