What type of devices are used to measure power consumption?

What type of devices are you using for measuring power consumption of non-light consumers?
What accuracy are you happy with?
Any DIY-ers for this type of function?
Any hints appreciated?

1 Like

I’m using the Brultech GEM for my house, I know others here are as well. It is quite accurate, and reliable. I log all 32 energy and 4 temp channels to influx over MQTT. I could use a second GEM, since all energy channels are taken, but it is a bit down on my priority list…

1 Like

Check out https://openenergymonitor.org. They offer kitset/Arduino based shields and standalone devices. Very active community and very helpful chaps on there. I have been running a node here for my energy monitoring for 2 years - very accurate and reliable. I modified mine to publish readings over MQTT so very easy to integrate with openHAB.

Definitely worth a look if you like a bit of DIY.

Ben,

Do you live in North America? Do you know if open energy monitor stuff is appropriate for there.

thanks,
craig

I live in NZ - so we have 240V supply. From what I understand there are many US users so I am pretty sure their stuff works just fine.

I agree with Ben openenergymonitor is a good solution if you want to diy, using it since 10 months now. My most reliable component so far.

I bought their RFM69 module (RFM69Pi 433Mhz Raspberry Pi Base Station Receiver Board [RFM69Pi_433]) to put on my Pi, the Pi is running openhab and emonhub, emonhub communicate the data by MQTT to Openhab. I’m not using emoncms.
The sensor is the emontx arduino shield (emonTx Arduino Shield SMT [TXSHIELDSMT]) that I put on a clone arduino, communicating to the pi by 433Mhz thanks to the RFM69 module.

I use a modified version of this: http://www.instructables.com/id/Physical-Home-Automation-Interface/step3/Sensor-Energy-Monitor/
It can be made with a Arduino with a ethernet shield. The current transformers can be bought cheap on Ebay or other “China” sites.