When is the right time to write a binding?

I’m new to OpenHAB. I’ve been investigating using it to replace the Homeseer system I’ve got at my house, mostly because HS3 is such a cobbled together mess of badly-designed VB code, with a worse UI and even worse mobile apps.

I’ve got a half dozen custom plugins I’ve written for HS3, either for 3rd party hardware there weren’t plugins for, or custom hardware for various uses around the house.

So far I had pretty good luck in converting one of them to hand-crafted rules, items and a sitemap. That one was an interface to the Monoprice six-zone whole-house audio amplifier. I found an example someone had for it on here, and while it was a bit of a learning curve in Xtend, I was able to refactor the example to run more efficiently and reliably. What I found, though, was that there was a really shocking amount of manual code needed to make it work. On the “receive” side of things, where the ASCII data from the receiver (in this case, over TCP) has the context of what its talking about, I was able to use groups, the group member list and a structured naming for the items to find where to stuff current state for the amplifier. (Its six zones, and about a dozen items per, so it was a lot of items to create, but was manageable, if oddly inefficient.) On the “send” side of things, though, it ended up being almost a thousand lines of rules for something that should’ve been maybe five or six. Every one of those items needed its own rule to handle state change, because the Xtend code for the rule doesn’t seem to be given the actual item that generated the event. (Its literally the only event-driven system I’ve ever seen that doesn’t provide it!?) So it was a lot of cut-n-paste-n-change, but it works. I think its at the tattered edge of what is “sane” to maintain by hand, though.