Which device to check if light is on or off?

Hi,
I’m looking for a device which tells my openhab3, if a ceiling light is on or off (no switch). The problem is, there is no room for a device in the flush box of the ceiling light. That’s why I have to install it within the ceiling light.
My first attempt was, to use a SHELLY 1PM and just measure the voltage of the light. And a OH3 rule tells me if my light is on or off. But because the shelly is within the ceiling light, it has to boot up and register itsself everytime the light goes on. That takes about 20 seconds, which is way too long for my problem.
Any idea for a better solution?
What about using a ESP8266 which is sending a MQTT message to OH3 if the light is on? (The problem is I’m not experienced enough to build the hardware on my own. Is there any ready made device which I can buy?)
Thank you for your help.

Hi,
Maybe you can add a (wireless and battery powered) lightsenor to the room?
So depending on the actual measured lux the light state is on or off.

There is a caveat using a light sensor: during the day the sunlight will be measured primarily. In such a situation you might not be able to distinguish between light from the sun and light from the ceiling light.

Maybe… maybe there are no windows in the room, maybe there is no direct sunlight. We don’t know, this is why I wrote „maybe“ you can add a lightsensor.

What about changing the light bulb/led?

Why not just leave the light switch permanently on and use the Shelly 1PM to control the bulb? As you said you basically had this wired up since you were able to monitor the Power consumption.

The Switch is a motion detector, which was quite expensive and I dont’t want to change it. I should have bought a smart one :frowning: → So I basically want to detect when the motion detector is turning on the light.