Why is openHAB so difficult to setup and use?

Openhab2
Windows 7
HP proliant server (SSD + 4 x 2TB hot swappable HDD’s) 16gb ram

I’m a security integration engineer by trade, Cctv, alarms, access control, media systems, Wi-Fi networks etc
I’ve succesfully home automated various things like LED strip lighting around the house using wires and relays via my NVR and alarm panel.
I’m now wanting to move in to voice control via Alexa and maybe Siri and/or Openhab iOS app.
I’m not wanting multiple devices connecting to random servers all over the world, which has brought me to openhab.

I’ve already purchased Sonoff wireless relays and ‘hacked’ to install Tasmota firmware.

I’ve read lots of tutorials and literature from here and many different blogs to try to get this set up. I had a few issues firstly with getting openhab to run on my server, then MQTT broker loading, to the point were I’ve uninstalled everything with the aim of starting fresh.

I think a java problem has been the main issue as my broker would not load at all no matter what version of Java I tried, or could that be windows? Running as admin makes no difference.

I must say I’m far from a programmer/coder but I’m tech savvy and as aforementioned, I’m old school hands on the tools type of engineer. I want to learn more about coding and did initially think this would be a good start but it’s already consumed a massive amount of time and I feel I’m no further forward.

Is openhab really that difficult to install on windows, have a MQTT broker, a couple of magic home Wi-Fi led controllers and sonoff relays to control via Alexa/openhab app set up?

Help with any of the above will be much appreciated and in return if anyone needs any physical connection advice I’ll be sure to help!

Cheers, J

It could be a java issue, but not knowing what java version your server is running, nobody could really tell.
If your server is powerfull enough, why not setup a VM an run openHAB2 there ?