WOL configuration via Web UI

I am new to OpenHAB and tried to use the WOL addon. After installing it, I did not know how to proceed. Apparently one needs to manually change a config file, since it is a legacy addon. So are there any plans of “upgrading” this to a normal addon?

I assume that would allow configuration via Web UI then.

1 Like

http://docs.openhab.org/addons/bindings/wol1/readme.html

The Wake-on-LAN binding does not have a configuration file

I don’t know exactly what you are trying to say.

What I am suggesting however is a configuration of the binding which can be done via the Paper UI as well.

The documents of the binding clearly state the “binding does not have a configuration”.

There is nothing to configure.

There is no need for a configuration file nor a configuration in PaperUI.

Everything the binding needs to work is defined on the Item.

See the link I provided for details on how to define an Item.

The problem is that the item configuration expected by this binding is not possible via the PaperUI as far as I know.

That is correct. Only 2.0 Bindings can be used with PaperUI.

That is why I asked

So are there any plans of “upgrading” this to a normal addon?
I assume that would allow configuration via Web UI then.

as I guess that in long term it makes sense to convert all legacy addons to 2.0.

3 Likes

This is an open source project. There are not plans so much as someone volunteers to do the work to rebuild the binding as a 2.0 binding. Volunteers are always welcome.

1 Like

Alright. Lets hope, someone volunteers to do the rebuild, if the official maintainers don’t plan to do this.

I think someone did, but I don’t know if it will get in the official add-ons section though. I tried installing it with the following steps in the PaperUI:

• Go to Add-ons and, section MISC and install Eclipese IoT Market
  • Refresh the page and go to Bindings where you now find 3 different bindings when you type Wake on LAN