Z-uno in OpenHab

Who has the latest news of how to make z-uno work with OpenHab.
Is there a guide that is not to complicated, i am new in OpenHab but not in Arduino.
/Torben

In my oppinion it is not possible.
The Z-Wave Binding is not able to dynamicaly create channels for a device. All known devices are in the Z-Wave Device Database.

https://www.cd-jackson.com/index.php/zwave/zwave-device-database/zwave-device-list

Because Z-Uno generates an individual device not known in the datbase, it can’t be used.

1 Like

Likely the only way tho binding could be used is to manually add your device locally to the binding. There is a thread here on unpacking the jar file and doing that. You are then responsible for troubleshooting though.

What a coincidence. I just learned about the z-uno device today and separately stumbled across this post. I can help as I do have some experience adding new or custom z-wave devices to OH.

To summarize, what @Bruce_Osborne is saying is correct. The high level version of it is this:

• Normally, all zwave devices must be pre-defined in the cd-jackson database. This gives OH awareness of capabilities for any given zwave node.
  • Because a z-uno is customizable with dynamic channels and capabilities, the normal method probably isn’t possible.
  • There is a workable alternative but it requires: 1) downloading the latest version of the binding 2) creating and editing your own xml file 3) re-compiling it into your own custom version of the zwave binding jar
  • One major drawback though is you will have to repeat this any time you want to update your zwave binding in the future, as you are effectively forking the binding to your own version.
  • The method above will seem tedious, but it’s not bad if you take it step by step.