Z-Wave vs WiFi vs Others

Hi all,

Complete NOOB to home automation here, but I’ve been an Infrastructure architect (Windows, *nix, you name it) for about 20 years now. I’ve been fascinated by the OpenHAB concept for awhile now, but paying 3 kids’ college tuitions means not a lot of free $$ to commit to home automation projects.

I’ve got multiple Raspberry PI’s and Arduinos floating around from work research projects, so I’m not hurting for hardware to run OpenHAB. What I’m wondering about is what the preferred technology is – Pro’s and Con’s of each, for instance. I’ve read a decent amount about Z-Wave and thought that might be the way to go, but then I also see devices out there that communicate via standard WiFi, and I’m thinking “why would I buy [fill in the blank technology bridge device or USB stick] if I can just have everything work over WiFi, which is already established in my house? I could dedicate an entire VLAN and WiFi network to IoT and be done…” but then I look for devices that do [fill in function here] on WiFi and discover I either can’t find it or it costs significantly more.

So, I guess what I’m wondering is, from some more seasoned OpenHAB builders, what’s your preferred technology? I’m looking for integration of dimmer switches, light switches, HVAC monitoring and remote control, Home Theatre applications (example: push one button and television, surround sound, Kodi/XMBC console turns on, surround sound goes to the Kodi HDMI input, sound is set to a preset volume level, and LED can lighting in the room dims to 60% for home theater ambiance.

I’m also interested in integrating an existing Milestone Systems (that’s security camera software) implementation into OpenHAB, so if you see motion on Camera 1 AND THEN Camera 2, do the following actions (A, B, C).

So, what communication platform has the most versatility and should I be considering? Z-Wave? Something else?

Thanks, in advance!