Z-Wave Zooz and EcoLink Things come up as "Unknown Devices" on OH 4.0.1 - New User

I am brand new to this software and having trouble with “Unknown Device” on 2 Things (first a Zooz ZSE18 on USB power (and with the battery removed just to make sure), and second an ECOLINK door sensor on battery). The computer is a standard Windows x64 PC running Windows 10 Home 22H2 in the USA.

Per the on line instructions at Download openHAB | openHAB I installed Java 17 from the recommended Zulu builds of OpenJDK, and get the following from ‘java -version’ in a standard cmd window:
openjdk version “17.0.8” 2023-07-18 LTS
OpenJDK Runtime Environment Zulu17.44+15-CA (build 17.0.8+7-LTS)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM Zulu17.44+15-CA (build 17.0.8+7-LTS, mixed mode, sharing)

I next hit the ‘Download openHAB 4.0.1 Stable Runtime’ button, and extracted everything from the .zip to create a directory containing:

(dir) - addons
 (dir) - conf
 (dir) - runtime
 (dir) - userdata
 (files) - LICENSE.TXT
           - start.bat
           - start.sh
           - start_debug.bat
           - start_debug.sh

From a command shell window, I cd to this directory and invoke start.bat to find:

ERROR: The system was unable to find the specified registry key or value.
       ERROR: The system was unable to find the specified registry key or value.

But then the openHAB 4.0.1 - Release Build logo comes up and gives an openhab> promt in the cmd window.