Zwave Fan Control Switch

I’m considering adding a switch my ceiling fan in Family Room and was wondering if anyone knows if these 2 switches are really interchangeable or not. 1 is labeled an actual Zwave Fan Control and the other is labeled a Dimmer switch.

I actually have a few of these dimmer switches already. Will they work as a Fan Control or do you need the more specific one? I just don’t know if 1 is rated better for the proper amperage that deems it a “Fan Controller” over the other one.

For reference, my ceiling fan has separate wall switches for the fan and the lights. And I already have a Zwave Dimmer switch working just fine for the lights. And hoping I can use the same type of dimmer switch for the fan control. Or if I will need to actually spend another $20 bucks for the Fan Control switch?

The Fan Control Switch

Normal Dimmer Switch

I’m no electrician but I do know how dimmer switches work and I’m 99% positive you can not use a dimmer switch on a fan. A dimmer works by rapidly turning the current on and off, fast enough that the human eye just sees everything as dimmer, not strobbing. If you did this to a fan I’m pretty sure it would either not work or completely wreck the motor.

Not quite right. It depends on the type of dimmer and type of fan power inlet. Traditional dimmers for CFL and incandescant lights use leading/trailing edge, that won’t work well with an AC fan, true.
But LED capable dimmers output DC using PWM (quick-on-quick-off, multiple times per second, as Rich described), that will do. No, that won’t wreck your motor. That’s how the fan inside your PC is controlled, too.