A newbie question: what is the best wired system A-Z list (equipments)while i use openhab as a software?

Hey guys,

i am new to openhab . i know about smartthings,wink etc but i want to create a project in my new house with full wired setup. I read about mqtt and relay switches but i could not understand what whole setup needs. can someone explain me how will it look in the final form and do i need some raspi board knowledge? do we have an easy way to plug in all cables to some kind of network switch and then configure from openhab software?

thank you in advance.

Please read some intro on openHAB:

openHAB is not capable of configuring your devices and appliances. It works with existing, working Systems and bridges the gap between systems, which normally don’t talk to each other.

thank you but i did not ask for to configure appliances. let me ask again;

i want to push a button on the wall and lights on\off but there will be no wireless configuration. So , to achieve this what pro equipment should i use?

thank you…

for openHAB it’s irrelevant, whether it’s a wired or wireless connection. The important thing is, how the interaction will be “bound” to openHAB, meaning how openHAB knows:

• that you pressed the button
  • what to do with that button press

So, as openHAB has over 200 “bindings” - interfaces to devices/services/appliances - there’s no easy answer to your question. Either you have to tell us more about your motives, your requirements - or you just browse through the list of actual working bindings and pick a technology that fits your needs:
https://docs.openhab.org/addons/bindings.html

ok i will read your link and ask again…thank you

ok i understand bindings,links etc.i did not buy anything yet. what i am asking is i will use openhub2 and what is the best wired system while i use openhab as a software? what will i buy to install a new wired system ?