[Framework] Homie for ESP8266

After I purchased some ESP8266-boards (NodeMCU v1.0 and WeMos D1 mini) I was looking for an easy way to connect them via wifi to an mqtt broker.

I found this framework called "Homie for ESP8266"

The “bare minimum sketch” (“Hello World”) is only 10 lines of code and provides everything to connect to your wifi, your mqtt broker and sending general information.

It startes as an access point on configuration mode after flashing.
With a simple app (Web, Android, iOS) you can configure Wifi and mqtt credentials.
That’s it.

As a beginner, I am happy I can control my first LED via wifi on an Arduino board. :slight_smile:
Without having to deal with error handling (reconnecting) for wifi and mqtt.

Have a look at this project.
It might be worth it.
Or let me now if this is a completely bad designed framework and you know a better one. :wink:

9 Likes

Hi, I am the creator of the Homie for ESP8266 framework.

I would also be glad to have feedback, positive or negative, as long as it is constructive.

Thanks!

7 Likes

Looks promising!

Trying to make a bit of sense of it…Would we need a “homie server” setup on our network for it to work?

Maybe if someone could explain how this would properly integrate into OpenHAB… I’m thinking it’ll be a case of using the MQTT Binding to subscribe and post message to each homie device?

The building block of the whole framework is the Homie MQTT convention. To be able to work with it, the only needed software is a classical MQTT broker. The homie-server you mentionned is just a Web UI and an OTA server for Homie devices, but you don’t need it, especially if you are using openHAB.

You’re right, to integrate with openHAB you will need the MQTT binding. Take the LightOnOff example. To interact with it, you need to:

• Subscribe to devices/<the device ID>/light/on
  • Publish to devices/<the device ID>/light/on/set

I am not familiar with openHAB but I guess it would look something like this: