A quick intro to Ansible

I’ve been asked to provide a tutorial for using Ansible. Ansible has very good docs. This isn’t going to be a thorough tutorial. My goal is to provide just enough information that you will be able to use the Ansible docs to find out the details you need. I’m also not an expert and there are many anti-patterns and violations of best practice in the examples below.

The way I think about Ansible is as a bunch of scripts.

You have three main things to worry about with Ansible. The inventory, the playbook, and roles.

Inventory

This is a list of all your machines tagged with their purpose. For example, here is my inventory.

[desktops]
huginn

[media]
medusa

[homeauto]
argus

[nightscout]
fenrir

[cctv]
argus

[pis]
manticore
cerberos
hydra
norns-vpn
sibyl ansible_user=pi
sirens

[nas]
fafnir

[sensorReporter]
cerberos
hydra
manticore

[banana]
nidhogg

[tripwire]
manticore
cerberos
hydra
norns-vpn
sibyl ansible_user=pi
nidhogg
sirens
fenrir
argus
medusa
huginn
fafnir

[camera]
cerberos

[aiy]
sibyl ansible_user=pi

[music]
sirens

[remoteoh]
norns-vpn

[computers]
fafnir
fenrir
medusa
argus
manticore
cerberos
hydra
norns-vpn
sibyl ansible_user=pi
huginn
nidhogg
sirens

[nutclients]
fafnir
fenrir
medusa
argus
huginn

[shinobi]
argus

[docker]
argus
medusa

Yes, I have a Greek and Norse myth creature theme going. The main thing to notice is that machines can and do appear under more than one category. This is where I can, for example, put a RPi cam on one of my other RPis (let’s say hydra) and install and configure all the software just by adding hydra under the [camera] category. The next time I run those playbooks hydra will be set up and configured just like cerberos is. There are lots of places you can define this. I like to check this into git with the rest of my configs so I put this in a separate file. It can go under /etc/ansible as well.