Automating Garage Door to Replace MyQ - Taking the Garage Door Cloudless

Okay here is how I automated my garage door and made my own ‘MyQ’ system in the wake of MyQ blocking all 3rd party apps. FWIW I have a Liftmaster 8500W but this should work on any model.

Background - What I tried first: The garage door can be activated by wireless remote or via Smart Control Panel. The wireless remotes use rolling codes and I could not find a way to duplicate these with a Broadlink RM3 (or similar). The connection between the Opener and the control panel is digital so you can’t just short the 2 wires that run between them to activate the door. I’ll describe how I got around this below.

Parts: I am linking what I bought below but please check your system for compatibility.

• Smart Control Panel - I a bought second one for this but you can use your existing one.
  • Shelly Plus 1 - or similar. It needs to have the ability to de-couple the switch wire from the output (see below).
  • Small gauge wire - I used 22GA. Better if you have multiple colors.
  • 12V Power supply - I cut the end off of one that I had from an old modem I wasn’t using
  • Contact Sensor - We will use this to detect if the garage door is open or closed.
  • Soldering iron and Solder. Just a basic one will do.

The Design Concept: