Beginners Question

Hi all, i am brand new to the OpenHab platform an trying to understand what is needed:

I want to monitor (and analyse / graphics etc) of energy usage in my house and energy production from my solar panels. Meaning:

1. overall consumption and delivery from/to the grid (can do that through p1 port from my smart energy meter)
  2. power received from the solar panels (need a modbus 3-phase KWH meter for that)
  3. power consumption by my heat pump (need a modbus 3-phase KWH meter for that)
  4. power consumption by my electric car charging unit (need a modbus 3-phase KWH meter for that)

So what do i need:

1. a ‘server’ to run the openhab software on ? I wan to use my synology NAS for that purpose - or maybe some old windows pc or raspberry
  2. a few modbus (rs485) enabled KWH power meters installed in the circuits

Now my confusion starts – how do i connect the physical stuff to the openhab server (the nas / or maybe a windows pc)

1. i could use a p1 to usb cable to commect my smart meter to some usb port - but i gues a driver is needed ?
  2. i could use a modbus-usb device to connect modbus/rs485 to usb (and to my server / nas) - but again some driver is neede here i guess

So i guess the right drivers are neeeded so that the data can be used by the open hab software ?? how does that all work out ? and when the data is within the openhab software can you make diagrams of it ? For example to compare consumption with useage , do calculations, aggregate etc etc … and store data items persistently ? And can i configure such use cases without a major programming job ?

Maybe to novice questions ? Especially confused how to connect the things to the software …

Maybe someone has some directions here ? Maybe someone who has a simular use case ?

Many thanks for replies / directions !