Binding not visible after starting OSGi

Hi,

i have a simple embarrassing question about developing binding.

I installed eclipse for debugging a binding (https://next.openhab.org/docs/developer/#develop-a-new-binding)

Now i’m editing pom.xml in org.openhab.demo.app and add my binding and resolve in app.bndrun.

Now i’m able to start openhab with “Debug OSGi”. I set some breakpoint in “supportsThingType” in my thing handlers.

Eclipse now stops at this breakpoint.

To this point all is fine.

Now, if i start the browser my binding is not available and i’m not able two create things for my binding.

I’ve no idea why this problem occurs. Does anyone have any ideas?

Do you develop for 4.0.0-SNAPSHOT? If so, you might run into a similar issue like Cannot add thing from binding dropped as JAR · Issue #3323 · openhab/openhab-core · GitHub which will most likely be fixed after the linked PR is merged.

Yes i’m developing for 4.0.0-SNAPSHOT. Sounds like my problem. I’m waiting for your fix :+1:

If you need further information, let me know

Hi @Christian_Kittel @J-N-K – did the PR Fixes and enhancements for add-on services (#3293) · openhab/openhab-core@6738277 · GitHub (referenced from issue #3323) fix it for you?

I am still experiencing the issue when running the demo app.

Pre-configured things work, and handler is found. But “Add thing” dialog in MainUI does not detect the binding.

What demo app? In Eclipse? Maybe not doesn’t load the new add-on service

Yes demo app and using eclipse. Ok will check if there is a way to load the addon service

Thanks

http://localhost:8080/rest/addons/services returns

[
  {
    "id": "jar",
    "name": "JAR-File add-on service",
    "addonTypes": [
      {
        "id": "automation",
        "label": "Automation"
      },
      {
        "id": "binding",
        "label": "Bindings"
      },
      {
        "id": "misc",
        "label": "Misc"
      },
      {
        "id": "persistence",
        "label": "Persistence"
      },