Can't connect via SSH, no log, UI and rules working

Hi guys,

this is my first question here, so please don’t be mad at me if I do something wrong, e.g. not giving you enough or the right info.
I’ve been playing with openHAB for a few days now. I have no programming skills, no Linux skills and started completely from scratch,- total noob, so to say. :slight_smile:
openHABian is installed on a RPi 3, connected via WiFi.

Everything appeared to be stable so far, I got all my things and items added (Z-Wave, WiFi, Hue Bridge with plugs, bulbs and motion sensor, openocean), ~20 things total.

Since I found the rules engine it started to be fun, but the more rules I added the more I thought about what would happen if the system crashes with all the work lost. So I wanted to do a backup as descibed here but I couldn’t access the Pi with PuTTY anymore: “Network Error: Software caused connection abort”. The log on port 9001 wasn’t accessible either.

Paper UI and rules are still working normally.

So I pulled the plug off the Pi because I didn’t see any other way to shut it down “softly”. I had to pull the plug two more times for the Pi to boot successfully.

Now it was accessible again and I ran the first script

./runtime/bin/backup  

and it failed, it always said “can’t create… folder is read-only.” After this: the same problem as before. After a short time I can no longer connect to the Pi via SSH (and some other things like the log are messed up too).

Please help!

Use openhab-cli backup instead. This shortcut deals with folder locations automatically. I believe the issue was that you weren’t in openHABs root folder?

If you still have issues using that command, could you post the results of openhab-cli info? :slight_smile:

Thanks for the quick reply, Ben. After another “hard reset” openhab-cli backup worked and it got me a zip file! Awesome. How do I apply that backup zip when I need it?