Complete removal of Node-Red and all files

How do I completely remove all node red files for a clean install?
Long story short, I’m just starting out using Node-red and have no flows running yet. i have however managed to install node-red-contrib-ui_j instead of the node-red-dashboard.
unfortunately i cannot remove node-red-contrib-ui_j as it has something active all the time. I’ve tried for hours to uninstall this package with no success.
every cmd ive found and used for removal has failed due to ui_tab continuing to run on every flow.
Ive figured a clean start would be the easiest way of solving this for me.
Im not great with command lines but if some one is able to provide the correct procedure, ill be able to carry it out.
TIA

Maybe you should try to stop node-red first

cd into nodered dir
stop node-red

After node-red has stopped you should be able to remove the contrib.

Do you mean that when you try to remove this using the palette manager it tells you that there is a node in use?

If so…

Try using the “Node Configuration” tab in the Right Side bar.

This will tell you where the remaining active nodes are in your flows.

Once removed, you’ll be able to completely remove the whole set.

Good luck

Stuart

I understand the idea of cd into the node red directory,but not entirely sure on the correct command line to do so. I have tried stop-node-red and that does stop it, I then tried soo many versions of uninstall/remove contrib. (Everything I can find by googling my issue) Then rebooting the pi. It’s still always there. Apparently it saves something in the user directory for node red that keeps bringing it back.
One post I read said to just delete the file that contains the contrib-ui_j node. I also dont know how to find that and/or delete it.