Discovering OpenHAB

I am a beginner with OpenHAB. I discovered it online three days ago, ordered a Z-Stick gen 5 and an Intel NUC to give it a try.
I am not new to home automation however, having run a VeraLite for about a year.
I found that the Vera did the job but that its reliance on having an Internet connection, the rather dreadful Android App and its constant loss of direct connectivity were a bother. I addressed these latter points by writing my own Android App to directly communicate with the box at a fixed IP.
I just set up a quick test of OpenHAB on my Mac and I am impressed. The web interface from the phone is more than useable already! Congratulations to the developers.

The biggest difficulty I had were with getting the Z-Wave going. Essentially, I had forgotten to copy the Z-Wave binding jar to the correct folder.
It would be nice to have a tutorial that would guide someone who has a Z-Wave stick, some test equipment to introduce them in the demo house.
But otherwise, I am pleased. I will continue to expand the set of devices I switch to OpenHAB from the Vera.

Welcome aboard (another person jumping off the Vera route - I had a Vera for a couple of years, but moved to OH over 2 years back)…

I appreciate that the zwave binding isn’t the easiest to understand as it does require some low level knowledge of zwave. I’m not aware of a good tutorial on this (although someone else might point one out), but the wiki has a lot of information on configuring the binding (although you’ve probably already seen that) and there is also this post with some example configurations. The other resource is to do a search in the old google group forum.

In the OH2 zwave binding, configuration will be a LOT easier :smile:

Chris

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome, Chris. Is OH2 something stable enough to start playing with it? Are there big missing pieces if the only systems I want right now are all Z-Wave based?