EnOcean bindings : Opencean or Aleoncean?

Hello everyone,

I couldn’t find this discussion solved anywhere, so I thought to post this here.

A couple of weeks ago I started playing with OpenHAB 2. I managed to start up my Z-Wave battery powered devices (though I had some trouble with discovering them), I implemented my first site map and set up a few basic rules to update it. Then I decided to test my EnOcean devices: CO2 sensor (EEP - A5:09:08); WaterSensor eco (EEP - F6:05:01); AlphaEOS sense (EEP - A5:04:01) ; WIndowGrip (EEP - F6:10:00). I downloaded Ocean binding using Paper UI and started testing, I saw the ESP3 messages being received in the log, but I couldn’t get my things set up. So after a bit of googling I found out that my devices are not supported by the binding I chose. So with a bit of Java knowledge and determination I implemented the profiles for my devices and after quick junit tests I moved on to the last phase - implementing the EEPs in opencean - the library on which Ocean binding is built, but alas "This Library [opencean] is discontinued! Please have a look at the Aleoncean library… ", it said on the opencean’s wiki.

So I was left with a dilemma: follow through with my plan and implement my changes or try to port my work to Aleoncean?

This wouldn’t be a problem if I decided to keep my work to myself, but I want to share what I have done with the community so nobody had to do this work again and at the same time I want to find out which of the two bindings is currently preferred by the OpenHAB community, because currently in OH2 when you look for bindings for EnOcean devices in Paper UI or HABmin2 you only find this EnOcean binding, which again is built on a discontinued library. So I can see that there is a potential for quite a bit of confusion (like @GeertVc post about which binding to choose) among the users. What are your thoughts about this issue?