ESP8266 dual relay via mqtt

thank you in advance for any help.

currently running oh2, couple week old snapshot. have mqtt server running on a rpi2. i have some esp-01 modules from a different project laying around, and a 2ch relay board.

my intention is to replace my projection screen control currently using a wifi relay board with the tcp binding. i have had reliability issues with tcp, and have seen that mqtt is very reliable reading through the posts here. i tend to make even the simpliest projects more difficult on myself, probably from the lack of understanding, but then again I’m not the tupe of person that starts from rhe beginning of the book, but skips to the chapters i need…

im going to tag @rlkoshak because i know he uses mqtt a lot.

what i am in need of is an explanation or tutorial of how to build my esp and relay board and how to make it work. i have never used mqtt before. i search the great almighty internet, but as we all know, there is a plethora of information, none that is specifically for oh2 that ive found. if someone can lead me in the direction of a good tutorial, a concise one at that, i would be very greatful.

This mqtt tutorial is quite good, and helped me a lot.

/Robert

I use an esp8266 with a solid state relay to control a lamp. I set up an mDNS host name for the device and run a simple web server that accepts ON and OFF commands and returns the current status when queried. I then use the openHAB http binding to send commands and monitor the status of the lamp switch. For this use case, I think it’s a simpler approach than installing and configuring a MQTT server (although I do have an MQTT server to support periodic sensor reporting for other devices).

@steve1’s approach is a good one.