Exec Binding in HABPanel

DeepL:
Hello,

I would like to be able to start and stop my PC via the HABPanel. I wanted to realize this with the WOL-Binding and the Exec-Binding.

Starting up is possible. But I can’t shut it down. If I type the command in the command line, the command is executed without problems. But if I try to bind it to the HABPanel via Things and Items, nothing works.

.things

Thing exec:command:pcoff "Switch off PC" [command="net rpc shutdown -I 192.168.178.36 -U Admin%admin -f"]

.items

Switch PCoff "PC off" { channel="exec:command:pcoff:run" }

exec.whitelist

net rpc shutdown -I 192.168.178.36 -U Admin%admin -f

I just don’t know what to do anymore.

Is there any message in the openhab.log, events.log file when you execute the command ?
Is there any entry in the windows event logs ?

Hi Wolfgang,

thanks for your answer. To be honest, i dont know where to find and read the logs. I am relatively new to openHAB and dont know a lot.

Can you tell me where to find these logs? I am running openhab on a raspberry.

You should find the logs in directory /var/log/openhab2/ ( installed via apt ) or userdata/log ( in case it is a manual setup ). See https://www.openhab.org/docs/administration/logging.html

Hi

There is security measure in place which prevents any command being used by the exec binding until it is added to the whitelist.
(Search the forum for more information on this and how to resolve it)

Alternatively, you can run the command from a DSL rule, using the executeCommandLine("/YourExactPath/FileName") line

You can also construct complex commands this way.

1 Like

I have been using a rpc shutdown command successfully for quite some time with the executeCommandLine function running OH natively on linux:

executeCommandLine("sudo /usr/bin/net rpc shutdown --ipaddress XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX --user *****%*****")

but in this case there are a couple of additional things (and these probably apply to using the exec binding as well)