Execute script using a switch

Hello openHAB community!
I’m an engineer but unfortunately not an IT engineer, so I hope my questions will not sound too silly :slight_smile:
Here the full story: I’d like to run a command by switching on a simple switch and, guess what, I’ve been struggling for three days unsuccessfully.
My configuration is as follows:

• Raspberry pi4 to which I access through VNC --> works fine!
  • openHAB installed through apt-get --> works fine!
  • Sitemap looks as follows:
sitemap simple_switch label="Switch_to_run_script"
{
    Switch item=test_switch label="Test switch"
}
  • Items look as follows:
Group Test_group "Test group"
Switch test_switch "Test switch" (Test_group)
  • Rules look as follows:
rule "test switch ON OFF"
when Item test_switch changed
then
 if (test_switch.state == ON)
  executeCommandLine("sh /home/pi/Desktop/test_scripts/test_script.sh")
 else 
  executeCommandLine("sh /home/pi/Desktop/test_scripts/test_script.sh")
end
  • the script I’d like to execute (just open geany) looks as follows:
#!/bin/sh
geany

What I already did:

• gave all users the right to execute the script with chmod
  • ran the script from a shell with sudo -u openhab test_script.sh
  • checked the openhab log: no errors
2020-04-19 12:08:45.875 [INFO ] [lipse.smarthome.io.net.exec.ExecUtil] - executed commandLine 'sh /home/pi/Desktop/test_scripts/test_script.sh'
2020-04-19 12:08:48.470 [INFO ] [lipse.smarthome.io.net.exec.ExecUtil] - executed commandLine 'sh /home/pi/Desktop/test_scripts/test_script.sh'
  • changed the header of the script by switching through bash, sh etc.
  • if I run the command
sudo visudo -f /etc/sudoers.d/010_pi-nopasswd

the result is

pi ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
openhab ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL
  • replaced space with @@
  • changed the command line in the rule by removing sh

I hope you can help me sorting this issue!
Thanks in advance for your support!