getActions() always returns null in rule on OH3

Having an issue with getting getActions to work where it always returns null when I am trying to publish an xmpp message. “Actions is null” is always hit and never actually publishes the message. Is this due to OH3 no longer having actions? I took the rule from https://www.openhab.org/addons/bindings/xmppclient/ and slightly modified it.

My Things file for XMPP
The thing id is real all other data has been obfuscated…

Bridge xmppclient:xmppBridge:xmpp "XMPP Client" [ host="example.com", port=2345, username="user", domain="example.com", password="1234" ] {
  Channels:
    Trigger String : xmpp_command [ separator="##" ]
}

Here is a test rule I am working on ( I have never used getActions before OH3 )

rule "Test rule with separator and reply"
when
    Channel "xmppclient:xmppBridge:xmpp:xmpp_command" triggered
then
   logInfo("testing.rules", "******************  XMPP Triggered!  ********************" )   

var actionName = receivedEvent.split("##")

if(actionName.get(1).toLowerCase() == "turn off lights") {

logInfo("testing.rules", "******************  XMPP! turn off lights received  ********************" )   

val actions = getActions("xmpp","xmppclient:xmppBridge:xmpp")
       	if(actions === null) 
        {
		    logInfo("actions", "Actions is null")
    	}
        else 
        actions.publishXMPP( actionName.get(0) ,"All lights were turned off")
    }

end

Try rebooting openHAB as from memory I read this can happen after a tmp and cache clean is done. If you update openHAB it can do a clean as part of the update. Since moving away from textual configurations I have not seen this occurring anymore. Reboot a few times and see if that solves the issue but actions are working for me in rule files.