Getting openhab to work on iphone

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: I’m using an old laptop that I formatted and installed ubuntu server on to. intel Core i5 -5200U/ 4gb ram/ 1tb hard drive
    • Java Runtime Environment: I have installed java I just have no clue which version
    • openHAB version: openhab 3
  • Issue of the topic: Getting openhab to work on iphone

Hi all,

So I’m extremely new to openhab AND Linux, I’ve tried my best to google and figure things out on my own but I’m now hitting against some blocks that I just can not figure out and tutorials aren’t getting me very far. I thought I would ask out load the questions and maybe people can help me with my specific problems or at least point me to tutorials I haven’t found yet.

A little background. I decided to jump into Linux last December because I saw what a friend of mine was doing and I wanted to give it a go. So I formated my laptop that I wasn’t using anymore and installed Ubuntu server determin to do everything via the terminal :triumph:. So far on my lap top I’ve got plex, a wireless print server and Openhab running and they seem to be working fine so far. I’m very new to Linux, I have some programming knowledge from when I was in Uni but I’m basically learning from scratch as I go and have no experience with Linux prior to the last few months. I picked openhab because of the active community and the amount of binding and integrations that are possible. I’ve got a lot of devices around the house that I’d like to connect so I’m figuring things out as I go.

Okay so on to the first problem, I am trying to access the openhab overview UI via the iphone app but it keeps giving me a can not find sitemap error. I have now created a sitemap but again its blank and I have no idea how to populate it.