Getting Started

Over the last month or so I have been working on OH1 and finally got it working with zwave and some XBMC statuses. I believe this is only the beginning of my HA journey.
What I am worried about is doing all work under OH1 and then having to migrate to OH2 at some point. That being the case, as a beginner, I decided to try to start with OH2 instead, but it is extremely difficult for me. (I can’t get any bindings to show up) I have read documentation on Things and don’t even know where to start.
I have placed the JAR files in the addons folder but my understanding is that they won’t show up without Things for them configured. Again I don’t even know where to start.
Should I continue with OH1 or do more research and figure out OH2. How much longer will OH1 even be supported and eventually mandate my migration to OH2 if I want to further my project? If the answer is to move to OH2 I will need some help, or more available documentation on how to set up a Thing, as the current documentation is limited.
Thanks for any guidance.

OH2 is a little different - it has some different concepts (eg Things), but, if you’re using an OH1 binding, then it will work the same way as it does in OH1…

Let’s cover this point first…

If these are OH1 bindings, and by “show up” you mean you want to see them in the bindings list in the UI, then you won’t see this. As above, an OH1 binding will only do what it does in OH1 - so in this case, it doesn’t show up in the OH2 bindings list in the UI. Likewise, items needs to be configured in the same way as they are in OH1 - ie by manually editing the items text files.