Hardware choice for first project

Hi all,

I’m new to IOT and I decide to create my Smart Home step by step.

For the first step I decided set up a small z-wave network with some Smoke and temprature sensors.
My idea is to put some temperature e humidity detector in the house and track the temprature during the day with openHab.
I plan to use Everspring ST814 (http://www.everspring.com/ST814.aspx)
Then I will put a smoke sensor in the kitchen, FIBARO FGSD-002 Z-Wave Plus.

To monitor the z-wave network from openHab I plan tu use a USB dongle Aeotec (http://aeotec.com/z-wave-usb-stick)

What do you think about my hardware choice ?

After that I will buy a thermostate that I will activate when my temprature sensors go under 18 degrees and stop when the temprature go up.

What do you think about this project ?

Now I will use an old laptop with Lubuntu as a server, in the future, my idea is to move to Synology Disk Station.
I can use ma USB dongle on it ?

Thanks

I can highly recommend the Philio 4 in 1 Sensors.
They work like a charm.
The Aeotoc ZWave Gen 5 stick works without problems, too.

Be aware that the Everspring ST814 temperature/humidity sensor is close to junk. Tried out a few, did salt calibration to check out their humidity functions (search youtube for cigars, humidors, and humidity and you’ll find it). Results were that the humidity reported (from multiple copies) was essentially a random number and not in any way indicative of true humidity. Temperature worked decently well, but there are far cheaper options if you just want temperature. (Such as the monoprice passive infrared sensor that does temperature as well!)

your thermostat will have a sensor already. if you have a central heat, you could install intelligent trap to control the heat in some room.

But I don’t recommend to change the temp on your thermostat only for 1 room. you risk to have big temp difference on the others.