How I have automated my lights

Hi all,

I’ve been slowly building my openHAB system for the last few months. I’ve built up my knowledge and understanding of the system from zero to almost semi-competent. I’ve tried a few home automation systems so far (mostly Vera and HomeSeer) and found shortcomings with both (especially Vera. Yuck.). OpenHAB had the steepest learning curve of the three by far, but now that I’ve (mostly) overcome it, I’m very very impressed with how flexible it is and how much can be achieved. I’m still learning though.

I’ve been working on setting up a fairly complicated (for me) automated motion-sensing lighting system throughout the house. I have used the bathroom as the prototype for this and I think I have reached a workable version 1.0. I thought I would post it here because a) it might be useful for somebody else, and b) someone might look at it and see bugs/gotchas that I’ve missed, or they may be able to suggest a more efficient way of achieving the same thing. For the last few days it seems to have worked perfectly, but I’m always looking for more edge cases. Once I’m confident that this is working well I will modify it for other rooms in the house.

It’s probably best if I first describe what I am trying to achieve.

I have a Fibaro Dimmer 2 z-wave dimmer with a single push-button switch on the wall. I also have an Aeotec Multisensor 6 sensor in the bathroom. I’m running openHAB 2.2 on a Raspberry Pi 3 with openHABian.

I have split the day into 3 ‘modes’; Day, Evening, and Night. The house cycles through these on a schedule set by sunrise/sunset and time of day. I will be making this more sophisticated in future to allow the user to switch more easily between modes (e.g. by voice command). The automated lighting will function differently depending on the mode. I also plan on adding an Away mode during which the motion-sensing lighting will be disabled (which is important as our cat tends to set off the motion sensors).