HOW TO - Raspberry Pi3 boot from SSD - Install openHAB to USB or SSD and boot

I have been running openHAB for about 2 years and have suffered 2 SD card failures. The first card lasted about 14 months and the next only about 7 months or so. During these situations I got burned a bit with backup/restore and so I decided to install on a SSD hard drive for better reliability.

I am currently documenting the process for installing latest openhabian image onto a USB drive and set my Raspberry Pi 3b to boot from USB. (Without needing to use a card in the sd card slot (not even for /boot)

Assumptions:

• Main Computer - Linux - Ubuntu (or you can use Windows and Putty to execute commands over ssh)
  • Hardware running openhab2 (Raspberry Pi 3b)

Pre step: . From main computer, use ETCHER to flash latest openhabian image to micro SD card and follow initial setup. ssh into raspberry pi (can watch the install) - You can skip this step if you already have access to the running raspberryPiā€¦

First, check status of current value for option to boot_From_USB in the OTP (one-time programmable memory) of the pi.

openhabian@openHABianPi:~$ vcgencmd otp_dump | grep 17:

The goal is to see a value of: 17:3020000a If you see this value, you can skip the next steps (your Pi already has this set and will attempt to boot from USB in the absence of sd card)

To enable USB boot mode, type the following:

echo program_usb_boot_mode=1 | sudo tee -a /boot/config.txt

This adds program_usb_boot_mode=1 to the end of /boot/config.txt.

Reboot the Raspberry Pi:

sudo reboot now

Once the Pi boots, it will read the new line from the /boot/config.txt file and enable the BOOT_FROM_USB option in the OTP memory. We should now see a value of 17:3020000a if set successfully, we can check again with the code:

$ vcgencmd otp_dump | grep 17: