Idea for Binding: Spotify Connect binding

Hi all,

within the last weeks, I had the idea for a spotify connect binding. This binding should allow for controlling a spotify connect device anywhere in your network (or any device logged in with your account) and it should be independent of the system providing the Spotify connect service (e.g. a Sonos or a Denon receiver).

If have already found a lot of ressources describing the (closed) protocol of how to implement a spotify connect controller: https://github.com/sashahilton00/spotify-connect-resources

There a two interesting libraries that could be useful: the official (but closed-source) library from spotify or an open-source reimplementation in Rust called librespot which is e.g. available for arm systems like RPi. However, the examples are either implemented in Go or in Rust. I do not have any idea of how to use them from Java (ok, there is a Java/Rust bridge using JNA, but I have no experience and no idea of how to use it).

Is here anyone how is familiar with Rust or Go and would help me in supporting the implementation of a Spotify Connect binding?

Useful resources:

2 Likes

I have no clue about Go or Rust, but I love spotify:)

FYI the Rust project uses protobuf to define and marshal data, that part could probably be reused in a java binding (MIT licensed) , but Iā€™m not volunteering :wink:

Funnily enough whilst searching for some background info on Spotify Connect, this thread came up.

One of the more recent project takes the work of librespot and wraps a web server around it with REST API. The project, spotifyd-http, like librespot is also written in Rust.

Iā€™ve been able to setup the spotifyd-http web server in my network (using a Ubuntu VM - Rust didnā€™t seem to play nicely on my RPi2) and written a very rough (lots of hardcoding) OH2 binding which allows control of Spotify Connect devices (PLAY/PAUSE/NEXT/PREV only atm).