LampUX Wifi Bulbs

Does anyone here have any experience with LampUX bulbs?

I picked one up off of Amazon a couple of weeks back hoping to make it work with OH, the price was decent so I figured why not?
Amazon Link

I have installed the Wifi LED binding and it did not detect it, I tried adding it manually but thats doesn’t seem to be working either sadly. The odd thing about it is that the device doesn’t have a normal IP on my network, 192.168.x.x. It has its own IP of 69.168.151.19 and I can ping it from other devices in my network, such as my OH box but for some reason can not connect to it.

Admittedly I am a noob on working with these bulbs, so I am not sure what exactly to be on the lookout for but with some guidance I can most likely figure it out, just need to be pointed in the right direction.

Any guidance or help on this would be great. Thanks for reading.

~T

What app do they use?

@vzorglub This is the app I am using https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lampux.ledbrighter&hl=en_CA

I was hoping they were Tuya compatible but they are not
Cheap blubs often are

I am afraid but unless the company provide an api to control the bulbs you are going to have to look for a workaround

Have they been controlled by home assistant or node-red?

Ah damn, thats too bad.
I did some searching but did not come across any other implementations of this with other systems. Not even an API sadly.

I was of the same mind thinking that because they were cheap that they may be based on something like Tuya and work without too much hassle.

I may take some time and see if I can proxy the app and capture the calls it’s making, may give me a starting point for things.

1 Like

So I’ve got the same bulb and a similar problem. I’d like to be able to use Node Red and OpenHAB with it, but am struggling.

I think “62.168.151.19” is a red herring, as this is most likely your ISP provisioned IP address for your home WhoIs