Looking for a Bachelor Thesis Topic

Hello All,

I am an infomatics student at the Hochschule Darmstadt and am hugely interested in the area of IoT. I have experimented with raspberry pi/arduino to build many sensors and understand many things. I have been following the OpenHAB & eclipse smarthome thread a lot and have used both of them to build small prototypes. I would like to do my bachelor thesis in the context of smarthome using OpenHAB/eclipse smart framework. I was hoping i could get some pointers from the community here. I guess this might be off topic and might be a little too abstract but i was thinking of working on OpenHAB for my thesis so was looking for some ideas. So, i would appreciate any pointers or any suggestions.

Best Regards,
Adel

I guess @Kai would be a good contact person to diskuss what topic could benefit openHAB.

From a selfish perspective, I would suggest to develop a new binding for openHAB. :blush:

Maybe Rademacher would even support this, as a german company.

@AdHa – My general advise would be to pick a topic you are passionate about, and an area you could see yourself working in in the future.
If this happens to be OH and IoT so be it.
In case the FH Darmstadt still has the same good reputation it had a few decades ago, then the thesis can’t be lame one. :slight_smile:

@christoph_wempe’s idea is certainly one I would follow…

Yes, I can see describing the framework, building a solution on a rPi, building a nifty sensor, have it talk MQTT, and even write a new binding for the OH community would be great… again @Kai can certainly provide pointers what would be a good project to tackle.

I am sure you are aware that the thesis has to tackle a degree of difficulty showcasing your learning, either in architecting, developing, or using a strategy, or a technical solution, starting out with a relevant problem, demonstrating adequate research and citation of the relevant literature, culminating in your solution and conclusion.