Rademacher DuoFern?

I am thinking about buying a roller shutter from Rademacher.
https://www.rademacher.de/rolllaeden/gurtwickler/rollotron-schwenkwickler-standard-duofern/

This device uses a proprietary radio technique called DuoFern.

I could not find anything about integrating this with openhab.

But it looks like the “competition” at FHEM found a way.
There is a binding (or whatever its called in FHEM) that uses the Rademacher DuoFern USB-Stick 9495-UW (~80€) from Rademacher on a Raspberry Pi.

Here is the source code:
10_DUOFERNSTICK.pm
30_DUOFERN.pm

Anybody interested in starting to develop a binding for this?
Unfortunatelly, I am not a coder.

I created an issue for this.

1 Like

Hi,

I would also be a interrested user for a Rademacher Binding :wink: But sorry, I can’t program it.
If you did not yet buy the roller shutters, you would have the option to go for Somfy.

I need a belt take-up reel (? german: “Gurtwickler”).
Looks like there is none from Somfy.

Anyway.
My (first) Rollotron arrived today.

I will try to controll it with an Arduino.
Kind of like this guy does it: https://alex-witkowski.blogspot.de/2012/05/rollotron-9300-goes-homematic.html

A dedicated binding would be much better of cause. :slight_smile:

Ah, ok. Sure you can control the switches via an Arduino, But then every other “Gurtwickler” would have worked also.
What do you want to run on the Arduino? MQTT, Souliss, or something else?
I have integrated roller motors which are controlled only by RF.
The only other option would be to use am original Rademacher actuator and control it from some OH hardware, so maybe the Raspi which runs as server. But thats again another 40€:
https://www.rademacher.de/hausautomation-homepilotr/steuerungen-sender/duofern-funksender-up/

I choose Rademacher, because a friend told me the cheap ones would be very loud and low quality.
And because I have hope, somebody will develop a real binding someday. :pray: