My MQTT 1.x to 2.x Migration Experiences

Edit 1: I may have uncovered a bug

I know others have posted similar and very useful tutorials along these same lines. But the new MQTT 2 binding is very new and has lots of options so I wanted to documented my personal experience migrating with a couple of lessons learned and my recommended best practices along the way.

I am by no means an expert in MQTT nor either of the bindings. If I write something wrong here please let me know.

Goals

My initial goal was to take what I have device and Item wise with my MQTT1 setup and move to MQTT 2 with a minimum amount of changes. Clearly, in the process I have discovered that my overall approach to using MQTT is not the best and my topic hierarchy was not well thought out. Changing that will be a future exercise.

I have a mix of some custom devices (sensorReporter), ESP Easy, and Sonoffs running Tasmota.

Tools

Just in time for this exercise @thomasnordquist published an MQTT tool that listens to and publishes the topic hierarchy of your existing setup. It also shows the message traffic in real time. This tool was a real time saver. Normally when I’d do a migration like this I’d use a combination of the REST API, custom sitemaps, watching the logs and an MQTT client. With this tool I only needed it and to watch the logs. Go check it out, you won’t regret it.

Logging Config

If you are like me you will inevitably run into some strange issues and will want to look at more detailed logging from the binding. Here is my log4j2 config to put the MQTT binding into debug and put the logs in its own file. This proved very important to find one of the problems I ran into.

# MQTT
log4j2.logger.mqtt.name = org.eclipse.smarthome.binding.mqtt
log4j2.logger.mqtt.level = DEBUG
log4j2.logger.mqtt.additivity = false
log4j2.logger.mqtt.appenderRefs = MQTT
log4j2.logger.mqtt.appenderRef.mqtt.ref = MQTT

# MQTT
log4j2.appender.mqtt.name = MQTT
log4j2.appender.mqtt.type = RollingRandomAccessFile