MyQ/Chamberlain/Liftmaster Openhab connection problem

I’m an extreme OpenHAB newbie. Brand new OpenHAB install, fully patched on a Raspberry Pi 3:
Linux openhab 4.19.75-v7+ #1270 SMP Tue Sep 24 18:45:11 BST 2019

So far, I just told it to do the demo, got Openhab to notice some TPlink plugs and BigAss fan, and using the Paperclip menu they’re controlled nicely. Once I get the stuff I have integrated, I’ll start learning more about how to configure the interfaces to make more sense.

I had a pair of Liftmaster garage door openers installed with the full bells and whistles. 850s I think. That is completely configured up with the IOS app and works nicely on my home wireless (doors are static IPs).

I downloaded the Chamberlain MyQ binding into OpenHab (using OpenHab’s built in add-on function), and the binding appears to stubbornly refuse to detect the door openers. My guess is that the binding contacts “a” MyQ API (shoudl be same as what IOS uses) via the Internet and controls via that API. I’ve checked/rechecked the userid/password stuff, and looked for extraneous spaces (as someone else reported), and it just refuses. I try to fix/poke the binding for searching again, but I don’t even know if it notices my efforts.

I’m not using cloud (except insofar as a particular binding might be using it to talk to a specific device that won’t let me speak to it directly. I intend on getting away from internet connectivity required for any of this.]

This is where I get stumped:

1. MyQ comes in Chamberlain, Liftmaster and one or two other flavors (brandings). Liftmaster is owned by Chamberlain. Could the doors be on a liftmaster server, and the binding talks to Chamberlain’s? Would it matter? I don’t see ANY indication that the Internet endpoint can be configured. Did anyone else find their (particularly) liftmaster functions stopped working recently?